Chia Seed Muesli

So this title is a tad misleading…because I don’t really know what to call this or all of the unlimited possibilities it can morph into. And I don’t know if you got the memo, but chia seeds are EVERYTHING right now. They’re the new quinoa, the new coconut water, the new “plant based diet” dream come true. So get on the train. I seem to be pretty fixated on breakfasts lately. Starting the day with a fresh start, a full belly, brain food! So on further exploration I found this recipe from OhSheGlows.com. That woman is amazing. For real. Go check her out. I was dying to try her “Breakfast Bowl”. It only takes about 5 minutes to prepare and then you let it sit in the fridge over night. Wake up, mix it all together and you’ve got one tasty breakfast.

Chia Seed Museli

I decided to try it without bananas (not because I don’t like bananas, I love them, I was simply out of them. She recommends mashing half a banana in with your chia seed mixture to sweeten, add volume, and texture. I just added honey.) I also switched up some of the ingredients based on what I had (aka. lots of leftovers from my granola!) and what I like (blueberries>raisins). What I discovered was that with all of the soaked up yumminess of buckwheat, nuts, coconut, and such it becomes very much like a cold bowl of museli. However, depending on your ingredients the chia seed base becomes a rice/tapioca pudding replacement with virtually no sugar, calories, or negatives. Add in cocoa powder, I imagine you’d get some insane rich result, add in fresh blueberries, strawberries blackberries and mint for a fresh light bowl (maybe even toss in a teaspoon of vanilla!), or keep it ultra clean with all of your grains, fiber, and what have you! I’m officially addicted to all things chia seed. I halved the recipe from oh she glows the first time, and then had to halve it again because that was a heck of a lot of fiber for me! Feel free to double or even quadruple this recipe to your liking.

Ingredients:

1 Tablespoon Chia SeedsRaw Almonds and Buckwheat

1/2 Cup Almond Milk

1 Teaspoon Honey

1/4 Teaspoon Cinnamon

1 Tablespoon Raw Buckwheat Groats

1 Tablespoon Almonds (slivered, chopped, whatever)

1 Tablespoon Walnuts (chopped)

1 Tablespoon Coconut (shredded, unsweetened)

1 Tablespoon Frozen Blueberries (skip these if you want. They will die thing a lovely purpley blue!)

In a bowl combine chia seeds, almond milk, honey, and cinnamon.

Chia Seeds, Almond Milk, Honey, and Cinnamon

Stir for 3-5 times until it feels combined. Cover and set in fridge for 4 hours or overnight.

Suspended Chia Seeds

In a small bowl place Buckwheat, Almonds, Walnuts, Coconut, and Blueberries.

Toppings

Add water until the mixture is just covered. Set in the fridge for 4 hours or overnight.

Soaked Toppings

When ready, remove both mixture from fridge. Chia seed pudding will be very thick and springy. See? Give it a good stir.

Chilled Chia Pudding and Soaked Toppings

Chia Seed Pudding

Drain excess liquid from nut/grain mixture. (just pour the excess out, you don’t need to dirty a strainer!)

Lovely Purple tinted nuts

Pour mixture on top of chia pudding. Mix, don’t mix, delight in the medium crunch and creaminess of your breakfast!

Chia Seed Museli

3 thoughts on “Chia Seed Muesli

  1. This is my new favorite breakfast!!! It’s so easy to prepare the night before and then all I have to do is make the coffee!! I love the crunch of the nuts and the sweetness of the berries.

  2. Pingback: Porridge: Why Goldie Locks Got it Right | Pragmatic Pin-Up

Leave a comment